Beer Review: Schlafly Reserve Imperial Stout

Next: Schlafly Reserve Bourbon Barrel-Aged Imperial Stout (2008):

I think about you day and night.

I got to know Schlafly towards the end of last year, when they wowed me with their pumpkin ale. Each subsequent beer from them only further deepened my beer crush, especially this one.

It took me a long time to get this review out…perhaps because I loved this beer so much that I felt it would be disrespectful to attempt to reduce its glory to something as desecrating as a blog. For how could I debase its beauty by allowing it’s praises to be viewed in a medium as transitory as a browser window. Or maybe I’m just a lazy a-hole.

It pours thinner than I thought it would; and it’s black, but not impenetrable. It has a quickly receding tan head. It smells like chocolate and bourbon. And, even better, it tastes like caramel, chocolate, and bourbon, with some fleeting vanilla. As it warms, its lack of oiliness becomes more apparent. It’s a thin mouthfeel for a stout, but it doesn’t lack in flavor at all. Hell, you could drink a whole bomber of this and not feel like you’re pregnant and in your third beermester. Although at 10.5% ABV you might be a little cockeyed, but that shouldn’t stop you.

Time to induce! This beer baby is long overdue.

The Haybag: This is good, but why does everything have to be aged in bourbon barrels? I bet this would be even better had they not. Sorry, but I prefer to keep my bourbon and beer in separate vessels.

12 thoughts on “Beer Review: Schlafly Reserve Imperial Stout

  1. Beer and BBQ – you’re a man after my own heart. I personally hate the whole “bourbon barrel” trend. Working on a post about the 5 things they think makes your beer better – but really doesn’t. And that is definitely one of them! Keep up the good work! I’m following, so I’m looking forward to future posts!

    • Thanks for following. I will have to take a better looksie-peepsie over at your site. I liked your 4 “Calling” Birds review.

      I, for some reason, love the taste of bourbon and beer together. I even like the taste of Jameson whiskey dropped in a Guinness. It could be a personality defect…I don’t know. But I DO think brewers have gone a bit overboard. And it sounds like the substantial portion of the beer drinking population that doesn’t like it (you and my wife, included) are finally starting to voice their displeasure.

    • Man, I love the taste. If they cut back on it, I may have to start dumping bourbon in some of my beer.

      I am going to a rare Bell’s event at RFD on the 10th. They are going to have Black Note Stout (bourbon barrel aged blend of expedition stout and double cream stout). I am pretty giddy about it.

  2. Maybe you should have gone into sales, because this one has me ready to go looking for one. I wish I had one of these on Sunday night when my 10lb brisket somehow caught fire whilst I napped (was only on the grill 1.5 hrs). And totally indirect heat — I still haven’t figured out how. Will post pics for you.

    • Thanks! At Rick’s I have been eyeing-up Schlafly Reserve Barleywine. I may have waited too long, though, as it may be gone by now. Last time I picked up Schlafly’s Quad and their Grand Cru, so I felt like I couldn’t justify another Schlafly purchase. So many beers!

  3. Pingback: The Session #59: The Perfect Bourbon | beerbecue

    • Thanks! We don’t get all their stuff in Northern VA, but everything I have had from them so far is at least good. At this point I would say they are reliably solid, with some really good stuff as well.

      And I love the liquor store bear. Hilarious.

  4. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday: Adult Libations for your Super Bowl Party | sportsglutton

Leave a Reply

