Snake River Brewing Pako’s IPA (Eye-P-A)

Next up, Pako’s IPA, from Snake River Brewing in Jackson, WY.

I need a minion to do this photoshop crap for me.

For those who have been to Jackson Hole, the above (modified) sign is familiar. For those who have not, it is J-Hole’s not-so-gentle reminder that the mountain is not to be trifled with…and neither is this beer. So, without further adieu:

Pako’s is named after Snake River’s 15-year-old mascot who went to the hop-fields in the sky in late 2010. He had one blue eye and one black eye (thus, initially named Pako’s EYE-P-A).

Of course, Pako is cute. But he is merely lulling other IPAs into a sense of complacency before he brutally mauls them. Pako has taken top honors at every single festival entered, including a Gold at the ’11 GABF and Best in Show at the ’11 CANFEST.

Babs' Eye-P-A (one good eye, one with a cataract), not so much.

Pako’s pours light gold, with one of those glorious, unruly-looking, dense heads that leaves your glass looking like an industrial doily accident. Immediately, my nose is confronted by the Simcoe hops, which seem to have brought a little more citrus than pine to this affair. The taste: Juicy citrus, pine, and some pungent, earthy and herbal hop quality that occasionally reminds you that hops are in the Cannabaceae family. It finishes dry, with a pleasant, hoppy bitterness that swirls around in the back of your throat and in your sinuses, hinting at what’s coming with the next gulp. The malt obviously takes a backseat in this brew, but there is just enough there to support it. I could drink this all night. Oh, wait. I did.

If you are ever in Jackson, WY, you are nuts if you don’t go to Snake River Brewery and try this beer. Then, hoard every can of it in sight and take it home with you (travel hint: ski boots will accomodate 4 cans).

Oh, Snake River, you had me at "cans".

The Haybag: Wow, this is good. I’m usually more of an East Coast IPA gal, but this is just flat-out great. We need more. Now I may actually agree to retire to Montana or Wyoming…ehhhhh, maybe not.

*Thanks to Snake River’s Tim Harland for responding to my inquiries about Pako’s. He promptly provided me with a wealth of information. Snake River beers are also available throughout WY, ID, and MT.

13 thoughts on “Snake River Brewing Pako’s IPA (Eye-P-A)

  1. Wow…quite the review of our Pako’s IPA!…can we hire you to do more of this insightful and incredible PR work!!?? But, why didn’t we get together for a brewery-tour and beer quaffing session when you were in our little town?

    Thanks for the great post and we’ll look forward to seeing what you have to say about other beers across the globe.

    Tim – Snake River Brewing

    • My pleasure. It’s an excellent beer. And I’m sure that’s exactly what your PR department needs: a tax attorney. 🙂 Although, nobody ever believes how close I was to dropping out of law school and moving to Jackson.

      Maybe I will hit you up next year for tour and quaffing. That would be fun…and would make for a good beerbecue write-up!

    • That’s what I’m here for! Although, Victor isn’t exactly easy to get past if you’re hunting for beer. Isn’t there a small place (in addition to Grand Teton) that is on the right, just before the bend heading out of town towards the pass to Jackson?

      • Yep…Pako’s and ALL of our flagship beers are available throughout Idaho in Victor, Driggs, Idaho Falls, Pocatello, Boise, etc. so although we would encourage you to come straight to the source at Snake River Brewing, our beers are available at fine establishments in WY, ID & MT…(Brennan’s stores in WI too!).

  2. This summer and fall during several road trips I sampled beers from Florida to the State of Washington. Pako’s is THE beer of the year!

    • It is ridiculously good. In fact, I would consider trading my last HopSlam in the fridge for a Pako’s right now. I think Snake River should consider distribution to Alexandria, VA.

      • We probably should…all in good time. Well, I might be able to work a trade for that HopSlam…let’s see…a 12’er of SRB brews for that hop-slam and some of your favorite BBQ sauce?

      • Solid. That sounds like a pretty good deal for me. I don’t think I can safely/reasonably get my homemade sauce to you, but I have some other good sauce in mind. And maybe I can throw in some of my dry rub. We can figure out the details over email.

  3. Pingback: Hop-epedia Project: Columbus Hops | beerbecue

  4. Pingback: Hop-epedia Project: Simcoe | beerbecue

  5. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday: Super Bowl XLVII Libation Recommendations | sportsglutton

Leave a Reply

