Dogfish Head Tweason’ale: Don’t hate the gluten, hate the grain.

There are several gluten-haters who inexplicably read my rantings. And since only a couple people with a common trait can constitute a significant demographic for beerbecue, we bring you the new gluten-free offering from Dogfish Head, Tweason’ale:

I am not going to pretend to know exactly what-the-hell gluten intolerance, wheat allergy, or celiac disease entails. All I know is that, to varying degrees, your beer consumption is limited…unless you happen to like, among other unpleasant symptoms: gastrointestinal distress, headaches, migranes, lethargy, tiredness…

No, really, your blog is great. I just have gluten intolerance.

Those symptoms sound slightly less pleasant than the other gluten-free beers I have tried in the past. So, with that benchmark in mind, let’s see how Dogfish measures up.

Dogfish Head describes it as a gluten-free sorghum-based beer brewed with buckwheat honey and fresh strawberries.

It pours a red-tinged gold, with a big-bubbled head that recedes so quickly that by the time I got my camera it looked like a glass of strawberry-apple cider. It smells like a slightly-sweet champagne (which the French would probably cleverly call “Extra-Dry”), with some strawberries and perhaps a little breadiness (gasp!). As for the taste, there is a hint of sweetness at the beginning. Through the middle and end it is mostly dry with a slight tartness, and it tastes like Strawberry New York Seltzer mixed with champagne and a touch of honey. Then it mercifully finishes pretty clean and dry. The mouthfeel is pretty thin.

This stuff does not exactly scream “beer”. But I will say that it is the least offensive gluten-free beer I have ever had, by a long shot. I might actually even call it interesting.  I say the gluten-haters should give it a try. That being said, if I was a gluten-hater myself, I would stick with this:

Beerbecue makes no warranty, express or implied, that bourbon is gluten-free. In no respect shall beerbecue incur any liability for any damages, including direct, indirect, special, or consequential damages arising out of, resulting from, or any way connected to the use of any alcoholic beverages, whether or not based upon warranty, contract, tort, or otherwise; whether or not injury was sustained by persons or property or otherwise; and whether or not loss was sustained from, or arose out of, the results of the use of any alcoholic beverages.

The Haybag: Not awful. I don’t like the slight tartness. And it struck me as more cidery/sparkling winey than beery.

5 thoughts on “Dogfish Head Tweason’ale: Don’t hate the gluten, hate the grain.

  1. Pingback: What My Friends Think – The Dog(fish Head) Days of Summer | The Dogs of Beer

Leave a Reply

