Session #62: Top Reasons I Blog About Beer

This month’s installment of the Session is hosted by Angelo at Brewpublic, and the topic is “What Drives Beer Bloggers?” There must be some pretty strong reasons at play. How else would I delude myself into thinking that what I have to say is so valuable that others would want to read it?

So, what’s my muse? Let’s see:

To Be Surrounded by Ladies:

With my luck...

If I had a nickel for every sexy lady that was all up in my business because I am a beer blogger, I would have as many nickels as I would have had were I not a beer blogger…maybe fewer. But I already have a beautiful wife who loves beer and contributes to the blog, a cute daughter, and a lovable, female dog. So, I’m already surrounded by great ladies. It must be something else…

To Make Lots of Money:

I’m makin’ it rain up in here. Between all my hypothetical nickels, ad revenue, lucrative sponsorships, and t-shirt sales…

Scrooge McDuck: Makin' it rain since 1947.

What’s that? I don’t have any of that!? Well, I did get a 12 pack from a brewery in exchange for 2 beers and some BBQ sauce and dry rub. I thought I made out pretty well until I rang up the shipping costs. Maybe it’s something more intangible…

To Gain Respect From My Peers 

I always get encouragement from my fellow bloggers. Countless people comment on how I “have save them much time”. Also, below are several other prime examples from some well-respected sites:

Isormennadora said, “Nice weblog right here! Also your web site so much up fast! What web host are you the use of? Can I get your associate link in your host? I want my site loaded up as fast as yours lol.”

Breast Actives Breast Enhancement Cream proclaimed, “I experience attractive with breast actives breast enhancement cream now.”

Backlinks Building gushed, “Great items from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff prior to and you’re simply too great. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which wherein you assert it. You’re making it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. That is actually a great site.”

Who needs riches with gems like that? Knowing that I have brightened their day is reward enough. Also, I am working with a gregarious Kenyan who seems to be in a pickle with his inheritance tied up in US probate courts. I have forwarded him money several times. I am expecting a percentage of the estate any day now…and it’s all thanks to my blog’s comments section.

To Justifying My Drinking Problem 

What better way to explain away my drinking problem? Drunks don’t drink expensive beer and wax poetic about it. They hide Jeremiah Weed Roadhouse Tea in a paper bag and use code words for it. Although…my 4-year-old daughter does refer to my beer as “Daddy’s milk”. Nah. I’m fine.

To Achieve Widespread Fame

Deep down, nearly every fledgling blogger wants to take a peek at his stats page and see it inexplicably blowing up. Now, the numbers I am talking about are probably piddly for many blogs, but not long ago Tröegs picked up my Nugget Nectar review/Nugget hop Federal Government mind-control theory on Twitter, then on Facebook. It has since had about 1700 views. I was convinced this would result in throngs of new followers. But it would appear that Internet “fame” is fleeting. Now my stats page, dejectedly, looks like this.

Why must you mock me, Stats Page?

Well, there we have it: My reasons for blogging about beer. It may also have something to do with the fact that my job is drafting tax legislation, which can be mind-numbingly technical writing. Also, I have always enjoyed creative writing, and I love beer. So, maybe it’s just a therapeutic outlet.

Nah. It’s totally that other stuff.

11 thoughts on “Session #62: Top Reasons I Blog About Beer

  1. Admittedly, I was one of the many people who picked up on your blog as a result of Tröegs posting it to their social media platforms. I am glad they posted the link to your site, because I am now a follower. But you don’t get hits on your stats page from me, even though I read everything you post. I subscribe to your feed and read your blog through Google Reader. One of the downfalls to readers. Yes, you get the readership, but you just don’t know it. At any rate, keep up the good work. I really hope that someday soon you’ll get that estate money.

  2. Let’s be honest the Troegs post was some excellent work by yourself, but the communist tons might have scared off you acquiring thousands of followers.

    Btw how bad did the decaying Barbara Walters smell?

    • Yeah, he’s had a tough run at it. At first I thought I was getting scammed, but his correspondence is too compelling and inherently trustworthy for it to be fraudulent.

  3. You reason #3 me laughing on floor rolling around with my ass off. keep up you work good.

    Seriously now, good article. Entertainment value is definitely my reason for writing and reading. Although, I am jealous of your stats: I didn’t realize the stats chart could go higher than 5 views!

    • Haha. Yeah right. I like The Beer Revue. You gotta have a little somthin extra up in the beer reviews, like humor and irreverence. And I think y’all got it. I’m a fan.

  4. Pingback: The Session #62: Blogger Roundup | BREWPUBLIC - Yeast, Malt, and the Pursuit of Hoppiness

Leave a Reply

