Beer Review: Schlafly Irish-Style Extra Stout

Next up, Schlafly Irish Extra Stout.

We got this in a growler at Whole Paycheck (Whole Foods). To me, a good Irish Stout/Export Stout has to be a quadruple threat: (1) Creamy; (2) Dry finish; (3) Some bitterness from roasted malts, and (4) Some bitterness from hops. Other types of threats include:

This beer pours black with a nice tan head, receding to a spotty film that leaves lots of lace. It smells like bittersweet chocolate, coffee, and roasted malts. It tastes the same with a hint of dark fruits, a slight roasty and coffee bitterness, and a pleasing hoppy bitterness. There is a mild sweetness to it at first, and it has a creamy mouthfeel. Then it finishes dry, with a slight, lingering bitterness that seems to bounce between roasted/burnt malt and hops.

This beer achieves the quadruple threat reasonably well. I would get this again, especially if I can find it in a bottle. It’s pretty good, but nowhere near de-throning my favorite Export Stout: Snake River Zonker Stout. And Schlafly’s only drawback is that, although it feels highly-drinkable, it clocks in at 8 percent ABV. A quick couple of these and Chingy be all like “errrbody in the club gettin’ tipsy.”

The Haybag: This was a big, tasty beer. Schlafly may be winning me over. And I like the Reservoir Dogs photography scene that unfolded when you were trying to be all fancy pants with this beer’s pic.

12 thoughts on “Beer Review: Schlafly Irish-Style Extra Stout

  1. Good beer, better Brewery, best pictures! Schlafly is bringing more of their brews east into my region. I’ll definitely check out their stout–if you like black coffee, you should check out their coffee stout. (And I mean you REALLY have to like coffee! )

    • Thanks. My picture taking is usually pretty lazy; but I was outside grilling, so I guess I was inspired (apparently my daughter was, too). I have heard their coffee stout brings it, and doesn’t F around on the coffee front. I will have to try it. I am down with serious coffee stouts.

  2. I LOVE the meta-pictures at the end there. Be honest: your daughter took the picture you ended up using at the top of the post, right?

    Also, the beer sounds good.

    • Yeah, I like how that came together. I didn’t realize the Haybag had taken a picture of us until later on.

      I can’t remember who took the one at the top. I think it was on my iPhone. But she takes pics with my iPhone all the time (and is getting pretty good at it). But I will say that I’m not too proud to use pictures taken by a 4-year-old.

    • RE: your Schlafly Barleywine review, I need to try that finally. I have eyed it up a number of times. Also, I will be interested to see what you think of the Schlafly Reserve Imperial Stout, I really like it.

      • Heh, yeah, sure. I’ve totally relied on my nieces for documentary evidence before, though not for beer…

        And the Schlafly imperial stout was quite awesome… I liked it better than the Barleywine, which was no slouch! (FYI, my comments are down again – they were working earlier in the week, I swears).

Leave a Reply

