Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s – A Short History of Deviance and Eproctophilia

Next up, Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s IPA (in nifty 16-oz. tall boy cans):

According to Oskar Blues, their Dale’s Pale Ale sold its soul at the crossroads, and voila: Deviant Dale’s IPA. Granted, Dale was no wallflower to begin with; but he was a pale ale, so he was generally a pretty neighborly fellow. In fact, enough so, that upon hearing of his recent deviance, his neighbors likely had the typical reaction, “Dale was such a nice guy. I never would have guessed. I mean, look at his hydrangeas.”

Although, maybe Dale’s deviance shouldn’t be such a shocker. History is full of surprising deviants. James Joyce’s love letters to his wife reveal that he was rather fond of spankings (eh, fairly tame), very hard spankings (OK, to each his own)…and he had a bit of a case of eproctophilia (uhhhhh). So enamored was he with his wife Nora’s flatulence, that he proudly proclaimed, “I think I could pick hers out in a roomful of farting women.” Wow. Somewhere, Bob Eubanks is kicking himself for not having thought of that.

I must be getting home, really. We're having cabbage for dinner tonight.

Of course, Benjamin Franklin was a forefather of our country…and apparently also a post-menopausal-cougar hunter. In written counsel to a young man on the choice of a mistress, he salaciously asserted that with older women there is no hazard of children and that “as in the dark all Cats are grey, the Pleasure of corporal Enjoyment with an old Woman is at least equal, and frequently superior, every Knack being by Practice capable of Improvement.” Ben, you sly dog.

This deviant pours clear golden-amber, with a glorious, frothy, white head that slowly recedes and leaves significant lace and curtains. The smell…oh the smell. It smells like you are standing at the confluence of an Ataulfo mango grove, a thai basil farm, an orange and grapefruit grove, and an Afroman concert. The taste is pungent, resinous, and citrusy. This thing is a Columbus hop bomb: The pungent, piney, and slight spiceyness of a great mango; the Afroman concert; some woodiness; and citrus (orange and deep grapefruit) playing a supporting role. The malt is a bit of an afterthought, but there is just enough there. Actually, a little more sweetness and caramel come out when the beer warms. It has a medium body and just the right amount of carbonation. And the finish gives you a nice bitter burn, with the aforementioned aromas and flavors swirling around in your sinuses.

Every time I open the fridge, I look at this beer. I think about it periodically during the day. If the Haybag gets home before I do, I am hoping all the way home that she has one poured for me when I get there. This is now one of my favorite IPAs. Actually, I think I might be developing a Columbus hop fetish.

The Haybag: This is a very good IPA. I am a little worried, however, that you are starting to exhibit some deviant hop behavior.

It's a disease!


22 thoughts on “Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s – A Short History of Deviance and Eproctophilia

  1. I think you’re going to get some interesting referrals from search engines now. True story: one of my biggest referring keywords from search engines is “Ben Franklin poon hound”. Seriously. (Also, I need to get my hands on some Deviant Dales)

    • Nice. I am a traffic whore. I’ll take it where I can get it. I still rank pretty high on google for “loch ness monster’s g-spot”. Possibly my greatest blogging accomplishment.

  2. I picked this up last weekend too, and I drank one later that night. I agree it’s a great IPA. I want to have another one or two of them before I figure out if it’s one of my favorite though. I didn’t realize it was Columbus hops they used in it. Total my imperial IPA that I brewed last weekend uses almost 5 ounces (over the different stages) of columbus, so I’m interested to see how those combined with some of the other hops that are in there manage to affect the taste in a similar way. Nice post!

    • Thanks! I am totally in love with Columbus hops. I thought the first one was good, but by my second or third Deviant Dale’s, I was totally enamored.

      I hope Pretentious Hopster turns out to be a nice ode to the Columbus hop!

    • Thanks. I think they are my favorite to write. And yeah, that James Joyce shit (as it were) is weird. An odd dude. Although, I can’t tell if it makes me want to finally finish A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man more or less. Maybe I can find some flatulent subtext.

  3. g-g-g-glorious review for a fearsome beer. thanks for making me salivate at 10am and changing my route home to picker up eh fer pack oh dem big grenades! cheers to ya, cheers to all ya’s.

  4. that review made me salivate–amazing since it started with such a gross-out and made me dust off some Joyce. The book was so old it fell apart in my hand, but at least it didn’t smell like farts. I gotta get me some of this beer, dude.

    • It is a good one. As for Joyce, in a way I almost feel like knowing this about him makes his work less intimidating (or at least makes me feel less inferior if I find it difficult). Maybe they should tell high school kids about his “love letters” before they have to undertake reading him.

  5. Remind me not to read this blog at work anymore. I almost LOL’d for real at the James Joyce comments. Great stuff!

    As far as the beer, all I can say is “Absolutely delicious!”. This is great stuff. Had it from a can and on tap. Excellent either way!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

      • Your blog is safe for work, it’s the LOL factor that I need to be careful with. Can’t have people thinking that I’m having fun at the office. Overall, I’m pretty quick with the Alt + Tab, but wiping the smirk off the face can be tough. I mean… there’s nothing funny about spreadsheets! Especially when the bottom number is always in brackets and red. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Oskar Blues Brewing Co – Deviant Dales « lyricslibationsandlife

  7. Pingback: Hop-epedia Project: Columbus Hops | beerbecue

  8. Pingback: OLD SPECKLED HEN—For select animals « Liquorstore Bear

  9. Pingback: Beer and BBQ Pairing Throwdown | beerbecue

  10. Pingback: Beer and Spicy Food: Hoppy, Sweet, or Bubbly? | beerbecue

  11. It’s weird, I found this excellent post (that doubles for an advertisement – grabbing some of this after work today) because someone promoted it via themselves. Almost as if they “self-promoted” it. Pretty cool concept!

    (Also, James Joyce was just a hot mess of phobias and philias. The devil only knows what went on in his wine-soaked brain.)

    • Hmmm. Self-promoted. Go figure. Hope you enjoy Deviant Dales. It’s Columbus hops can be divisive…all dank and pungent. I love it, though; and I seriously have a twinge of sorrow when I finally stop huffing the empty can to rinse it out and place it lovingly in the recycle bin.

Leave a Reply

