Sierra Nevada – Hoptimum: In Search of the Elusive Hopps Boson

Next up, Sierra Nevada’s Hoptimum:

Hoptimum is a diabolical Imperial IPA with a gansy-load of whole-cone hops, including Sierra Nevada’s own secret proprietary hops. For bittering they use German Magnum. Later in the boil and for dry-hopping they use Simcoe and their secret hops. Then they “torpedo” Citra and Chinook. Sierra Nevada’s website is a little coy on the specifics of their torpedoing process, but it seems they run the hot wort through whole-cone hops on the way to cooling and fermentation. A little Internet research, however, reveals that Sierra Nevada actually built a giant, underground hop accelerator, which propels hops and wort at each other at high speeds.

Actual leaked photo.

So now we’ll know why the tear in the spacetime continuum happens in Chico, CA, and not the Franco-Swiss border.

We're all going to die! And it's Sierra Nevada's fault.

It pours a clear orange-gold. The white, rocky head quickly dissipates and leaves some scattered Maldives lacing. You couldn’t swing a cat without hitting hop aroma up in here…resin, grapefruit, mango, peaches. As for the taste: Resin, citrus, tropical fruit, woodiness, and a little earthiness. And as it warms, the resin and the tropical fruit really stand out. It has a nice bitter finish that lasts for like 10 minutes and is dry despite all the sweet stickiness lingering around on the glass afterwards. Their bittering hops, German Magnum, have a high alpha acid content (high bitterness) but relatively low cohumulone content (imparts more of a clean bitterness than high cohmulone hops)…but we’ll save the technobabble for the Hop-epedia Project.

I’ll definitely get this again. And even better: Although it’s a special release, I didn’t have to fight for it.

The Haybag: This beer is excellent. It’s a must try for any hop head.

14 thoughts on “Sierra Nevada – Hoptimum: In Search of the Elusive Hopps Boson

  1. I actually had them set a 4 pack aside because I was worried they would do the same Nugget Nectar. Thankfully you’re right, they didn’t run out. I was debating doing this review on Friday, but I may wait another couple reviews. You beat me to the punch on this one!

    • Yeah. When scheduling Hoptimum and Deviant Dale’s to post, I wondered if we were going to end up having the same beer on the same day. Although, interestingly, I didn’t get them from Rick’s. I got Deviant Dale’s at Unwined in Alexandria and Hoptimum at Arowine in Arlington.

  2. A proprietary blend that has affected the space time continuum? God damn Sierra Nevada! I’ve had it with that place. I suppose there’s nothing to do now except drink this beer.

  3. Pingback: Sierra Nevada Brewing Co – Hoptimum Imperial IPA « lyricslibationsandlife

  4. I had this for the first time earlier this week – my wife picked it up to try on our last trip to the liquor store. She suggested I write a review of it consisting of the only thing I was able to say each time I took a sip: “S&#* that’s a lot of hops!”

    • That is a pretty apt review. Although, the Haybag was all but calling me a wimp for proclaiming how hoppy and bitter it was. I guess my wife is a bigger hophead than I am…which isn’t a bad problem to have.

  5. Pingback: Brew Review – Sierra Nevada’s Hoptimum | The Dogs of Beer

  6. Pingback: Hop-epedia Project: Simcoe | beerbecue

  7. Pingback: Beer and BBQ Pairing Throwdown | beerbecue

  8. Pingback: Tröegs Perpetual Imperial Pale Ale: No, dude, it’s INDIA Pale Ale. No really, brochacho, it says IMPERIAL Pale Ale. | beerbecue

  9. Pingback: Tröegs Hop Knife Harvest Ale: Tröegs defies yet another law of the Universe. | beerbecue

Leave a Reply

