Stillwater Artisanal Existent and the Original Hipster Twit: Nietzsche

Next up, Existent, from Mr. Strumke’s Stillwater Artisanal:

Existent has a picture of, and attributes part of its philosophical underpinnings to, philosopher-twit, Friedrich Nietzsche. History will show that Nietzsche’s biggest legacies are (1) extended-adolescent, existential, hipster angst; and (2) his last name, although physically unpronounceable, gets you at least 23 points in Scrabble (What? No proper nouns!?). Also, one of Nietzsche’s best known ideas is that Western society has moved beyond God as the basis of meaning and reality, and thus, “God is dead.” Of course, the fatal weakness in his argument was right under his nose…

I can fathom wind and water masterfully etching the majesty of the Grand Canyon over the course of a billion+ years. I’m down with the Big Bang. Evolution? OK, at times, my behavior is not far removed from that of primates. But nobody will ever convince me that Nietzsche’s mustache could be conceived by anything other than the Divine Hand of a Higher Being.

The beer pours an impenetrable dark brown, almost black…as soul-sucking as a realization that life has no true meaning. It has a lovely, tan, frothy head that hangs around for a bit, but as with many things beautiful in this world, it is transient and leaves you…alone. The head recedes to a film with isolated, foam islands and a substantial ring that leaves some lacing. The smell has no true will to power, but it is definitively chocolate, coffee, and roast, and char. I can also pick up a little farmhouse, almost like a horse blanket. And you can tell it’s dry, like the desert – perfect in its absence of crippling pity and compassion. It starts out with coffee and hints of chocolate, along with a bready and nutty character. Then roast, smoke, and a slight farmhouse-funk kick in at the end. Some style-nazis will lament the roast character in a Farmhouse/Saison, but lamentations about style rules and consistency are the desperate morality of the weak in an attempt to transvalue the power of successful risk-takers. I find it interesting and tastefully done. It is well-carbonated, but not overly so. And as it warms, some earthy hop character emerges, and some hop bitterness comes out in the finish, much like a…ahh whatever. What’s the point?

Not my favorite Stillwater ever, but good nonetheless. Different (but not over the top), interesting, tasty, and skillfully executed.

The Haybag: It’s decent. Generally, I’m not fond of saisons (I am not down with funk and lots of carbonation), but I think this one is interesting.

Note: To avoid a religious brushfire, I should note that I’m not saying the age of the Earth, the Big Bang, or Evolution rule out the existence of God. Besides, I’m Catholic. We’re down with that shit anyway…heck, Mendel and Lemaître were priests.

10 thoughts on “Stillwater Artisanal Existent and the Original Hipster Twit: Nietzsche

  1. Well, it is a glorious mustache. I certainly agree with you there.

    As for style-nazis, I don’t think they have much room to stand on when it comes to saisons. For crying out loud, when Saison Dupont and Fantome are considered the same style, it’s pretty clear that the style definition is meaningless. On the other hand, the one thing I’ve always assumed was that saisons were light colored. But then, I had Stillwater’s A Saison Darkly this weekend, which tasted much like a saison, with a bit of roastiness thrown in for good measure… So who the hell knows? (Which is pretty much where I end up anytime I try to define a saison.)

    • The only bitching I actually saw was Dingsbeerblog…but I figured since it seemed a departure from normal that it had invoked the ire of other like-minded individuals. Plus, I needed something to work in a master-slave morality joke. Good fun.

      I had Stillwater’s Debutante last night. That, too, is tasty. Brian Strumke is generally pretty awesome, I think.

  2. I think Catholics devote more brain cells to this stuff than anybody else. My fave type of angst is Catholic angst. As for the beer, I totally want it, but my Catholic parent isn’t down with funk either 😉

    • Haha. Judging from traffic, Catholic angst doesn’t appear to play very well. I thought I had masked it with enough humor. The only other angle I could think of was that Nietzsche had Aspergers, but making jokes about a spectrum disorder made me feel like a dick. Although, the Haybag claims I have Aspergers (I think she’s joking), so maybe it would have been defensible. 🙂

  3. I didn’t find a single comment regarding Nietzsche that would be acceptable in an introductory philosophy course. I suggest you read before you critique. Maybe sober up, possibly consider obtaining at least a rudimentary understanding of your subject. Seriously, if you are going to waist your time spreading bigotry, misinformation, while at the same time flying a banner that screams just how “intelligent” you absolutely are not in the slightest amount. Write about beer & pork & leave the great literary & philosophic aimless, purposeless blogs to those who get their facts from somewhere besides Wikipedia. On a sidenote, Nietzche did in fact say “God is dead,” & he said it in multiple texts in multiple contexts. The truth is that he said “God is dead and we have killed him.” I would imagine if you are a Christian, your openness to chastise ideas that are clearly beyond your comprehension. You should know, Nietzsche was raised by a 3rd generation Minister–a father that he adored. Most importantly, you may discover or I should be more accurate as you seem prone to misinterpretations, in you readings of the great works of Friedrich Nietzsche that he had nothing but respect for Jesus. As to you opinions on his facial hair, there has to be some great fashion websites where such meaningless nonsense might be viewed as relevant. If you can locate a more positive philosopher that has lived since Nietzsche then you can be rest assured that you have like so many other idiots misinterpreted his work which he even wrote that be feared that fools for lack of a better term would read his work and not understand it in the slightest. I’m only speculating but he probably never imagined fools that would actually never read his work and publicly distort his work in such a grotesque way or even that such an opinion could ever have been reached without even knowing how to pronounce his name. (A brief tip the ‘e’ at the end is pronounced the same way most German nouns with a single ‘e’ on the end are pronounced.) I won’t touch the hipster thing as I am in agreement with you that there are people like yourself that know nothing of his work but love to sit in coffee shops and mispronounce his name, which leads me to speculate as to whether or not you criticize hipsters because you don’t want to be viewed as one even though the evidence is there or you are annoyed by the decades’ old problem of the ostentatious display of Nietzschean ignorance. Oh, he would have been disgusted by the Nazis. Also relevant here is the fact that he was long dead when the Nazi party was just beginning.

  4. Pingback: Beerbecue Daycare: Day 5 and Lessons Learned | beerbecue

Leave a Reply

