Piggly Wiggly Rarity: Pigtail Ale

Next up, Pigtail Ale, by…hell if I know. It looks like some Greenville, SC, based brewery brews it for Piggly Wiggly: Thomas Creek Brewery.

20120602-230643.jpg

For those of you not from the dirty South, Piggly Wiggly, or “the Pig” as it is called, is a ubiquitous Southern grocery store chain. The Pig apparently pioneered the self-service grocery store. Before the Pig, you handed a clerk your list, and the clerk got your shit for you. Someone shopping for you…gosh, who the hell would want that. Thanks, Pig.
20120603-131230.jpg

We are in Hilton Head for an extended weekend/wedding for one of the Haybag’s friends. (If our daughter asks, we’re here for her birthday.) My mom drove down from Charleston to meet us, and had a 6 pack of this in tow. Let’s do this thing.

It’s a good-looking beer. It is a rich copper, with a thick tan head that sticks around and leaves significant lace. It smells like caramel, and that’s about it. The taste is pretty straight-forward: bread and caramel. It is fairly sweet, so the very slight bitterness at the end is a welcome relief. Hmm. I was expecting this to suck balls, but the only thing that offends me is that the malt character seems kind of extracty tasting. But seriously, it’s almost like Rogue Dead Guy’s redneck cousin: He’s missing a couple teeth, his wife-beater is stained, and his flowmaster exhaust is obnoxious; but in the right company, you can flip on some Molly Hatchet with him, and it’ll do. And at $6.99 for a six, you could do a lot worse…OK, maybe not a lot, but if this is in a cooler with just about any macro, l would grab this.

The Haybag: Hmm. Not bad. I’m still going to drink the Southern Tier 2XIPA in the fridge, but not bad.

7 thoughts on “Piggly Wiggly Rarity: Pigtail Ale

    • I like to think of myself as a service in that respect. In fact, I think tonight I may finally crack open my final can of Four Loko (pre-FDA interference) and review it. Like Dontdrinkbeer, I drink it so you don’t have to. But instead of drinking the rarest shyte on earth, I drink Piggly Wiggly beer and Four Loko.

      • You used to see it on the billboards down in Myrtle Beach. I don’t know if it was actually ever a slogan for them, or someone just came up with it for those billboards. I always took it to be a play on looking left for on coming traffic before turning right into the parking lot.

  1. I’m pretty sure my mom would show up with this too. She would exclaim, “there’s a drunk pig on the label! How cuuuute!”

Leave a Reply

