Beer Review: Sierra Nevada Bigfoot Barleywine-Style Ale

Next up, Sierra Nevada Bigfoot:

Bigfoot is one of Sierra Nevada’s yearly limited releases. It’s a barleywine-style ale, and it’s named after the bi-pedal, blurry, ape-like creature known around the world by many names: Sasquatch, Louisiana Wookie, Yahoo, Yowie, Yeti…

…and Harry.

Despite Bigfoot’s elusiveness (or nonexistence), Cryptozoologists continue to seek proof. Unfortunately, any sightings are summarily debunked by real-scientific-discipline-ologists and almost always fall into one of the following categories: Hoax, batshit crazy witness, a bear with mange, or a shirtless Armenian.

OK. I admit this isn’t real. I totally photoshoped the beer in.

It pours a dark copper/tawny color with garnet highlights. It has a huge head that sticks around and leaves plenty of lace. And there is nothing elusive about the smell: Huge caramel and huge citrusy and piney hops. The first taste is like a slap in your hairy Sasquatch face from John Lithgow, but you know it’s for your own good because you’re better off in the wild…but it still stings, not physically or emotionally, but more from an ego standpoint…because, well, it’s John Lithgow. And would it have really killed him to be in the follow-up Harry and the Hendersons TV show? What, was the movie really that much more dignified than the TV show?

No.

The hops are piney, citrusy, and resiny. The malt character is mainly sweet and sticky caramel, but you might catch a hint of dark fruit as well. This beer is big and chewy, and the Chinook hops bring some serious bitter (as they like to do). Ultimately though, the malt backbone is big and holds up. But this thing is not for the faint of heart. And I would guess that a beast of this nature probably ages nicely.

The Haybag (sampling from her pregnancy shotglass): Whoa. This is huge. Beer is starting to taste good again. My body must be telling me something.

12 thoughts on “Beer Review: Sierra Nevada Bigfoot Barleywine-Style Ale

  1. This is apparently a very popular aging beer, taking on a completely different character as the hops fade. I’ve never had it, but that’s what I’ve heard. Makes me want to buy a sixer and try one every year…

      • I am from the future.

        hmm. It appears you’re right. I must have heard about it and assumed it was released (even though it appears it was delayed), then I assumed the delayed release was the second release. In any case, I thank you for saving readers from misinformation. I am need of an ombudsman. I can’t afford to pay you, unfortunately. 🙂

  2. If you hadn’t confessed to the photoshopping I would’ve totally thought that photo was real…

    I love Barley Wine but although SN beers are relatively common in the UK I’ve never spotted a Bigfoot… maybe this year will be the year

Leave a Reply

