Beer Review: Founders Backwoods Bastard

Next up, Founders Backwoods Bastard:

I have been longing for this baller since I missed out last year. It’s the bourbon-barrel aged version of Founder’s Dirty Bastard Scotch Ale, which seems pretty damn conducive to some barrel-aging. So I quickly snapped up a four-pack of Backwoods Bastard this year.

The guy on the label looks like Popcorn Sutton from the Discovery Channel series Moonshiners, which I have been watching lately. God, I love those little ‘shine-addled, law-breaking rednecks…especially Tickle. And I know Tickle hasn’t been to law school, but he regularly fires off such Cicero-worthy gems as: “It ain’t illegal till you get caught.” He doesn’t have an MBA either, but he wisely summed up their business model: “If’in we ain’t makin’ liquor, we ain’t makin’ money.”

C’mon, people, the man has LED lights in the brim of his hat.

It pours mahogany, with some reddish highlights. It’s got a beige head that recedes pretty quickly. The second you pour it, you can smell the bourbon. Upon further inspection, there is oak, vanilla, toffee, and a little smoke that tries to pull the smell over to the scotch side of the whisk(e)y spectrum. The taste follows the nose with the addition of brown sugar and a slight hint of chocolate and dark fruits from the Dirty Bastard base beer. It’s sweet, but not cloying. And it’s 10.2% ABV, so a 4-pack of these could lead to one of those mornings where you wake up in a strange place with a degree from University of Phoenix.

The Haybag (from her shot glass sized pregnancy portion): Too boozy. I like Dirty Bastard better. Although, maybe it’s because I can’t drink enough right now to make Moonshiners bearable. Now, switch it to Hart of Dixie. That Rachel Bilson deserves so much more than just Teen Choice Awards.

11 thoughts on “Beer Review: Founders Backwoods Bastard

  1. Dude on the label looks like Gandalf to me… but then, I’m a huge nerd. I like this beer, but I remember it being very boozy. I may have to try it again sometime though. My palate for this sort of thing has shifted…

    • It does look like a hillbilly Gandolf!

      It is pretty boozy. But I feel like with this base beer that it works. Although, I guess it really is a personal preference. And if I want a beer to taste like I dropped a bourbon in it, I’ll just do that myself, dammit.

  2. Seeings as your wife now controls the TV and is insisting on a steady diet of CW Network shows, I’m anticipating many of your reviews in the near future to be about beers that clock in over the 10%ABV mark. Ah, who am I kidding, I’d don’t have any control over what’s on my TV most of the time either.

  3. Two four packs seems right up my alley, but I probably end up with a two degrees in life style management from Phoenix…guess I’ll change my mind. How about you and I split one and let are Haybags enjoy that Dixie Love nonsense?

Leave a Reply

