Tröegs Mad Elf and Elf on the Shelf

Next up, Tröegs Mad Elf:Mad Elf

elfChristmas looms on the horizon. That means the triumphant return of Elf on the Shelf. For those of you not familiar with Elf on the Shelf, he is an effeminate-looking elf that shows up between Thanksgiving and Christmas to watch over the kids during the day. Every night, Elf flies back to the North Pole to report to Santa. Then Elf returns to sit in a new vantage point the next morning (sometimes with a treat in hand to reward good behavior). Quite frankly, it’s lazy parenting at its best. December is littered with hollow threats about how Elf is watching.

Eh, Elf will take care of it.

Eh, Elf will take care of it.

Another thing: Unreasonable Christmas lists from the kids. This is my 4-year-old daughter’s list:

Hula hoop, OK. Scoter/Scooter, OK. Cell Phone! WTF?!

Hula hoop, OK. Scoter (Scooter), check. Cell Phone! WTF?!

Item #3 had me particularly concerned. I needed to get some leverage over Elf so I could influence his daily Naughty/Nice Threat Assessment with the Big Guy. Thus, I stalked Elf after-hours (when he was supposed to be reporting back to Santa)…

Aha!

Aha!

This could be the leverage I needed, but based on the smell of some Santas I’ve encountered, Saint Nick seems to be OK with drinking on the job. Plus, Elf told me that he had been down lately because he hadn’t seen snow in days. That seemed fair, until the next night when I discovered he wasn’t jonesing for frozen precipitation…

Bad Elf!

Bad Elf!

It pours ruby-red with a white head that recedes to a ring (and eventually to nearly nothing). The smell is big. I’ve never heard anyone say this, but I think it smells like booze-soaked cake, which is good. It also smells like cherries and an unspecified, phenolic spiciness. It starts out fairly sweet, with some cherries. It’s all like candied fruit up in here. The middle brings some spice; and it ends sweet, a little spicy, and with a hint of boozy heat. As it warms, it opens up even more, and I swear you can smell and taste a bit of honey. It’s not heavy, but it’s definitely something to drink slowly.

This beer can be divisive. I like it, though, and loyally get it every year. It’s not sweet enough to wire you like an Elf on an 8-ball bender, but you do have to be able to hack sweetness to enjoy it.

The Haybag (from her shot glass sized pregnancy portion)I like it. I wish I could have more. I blame you.

10 thoughts on “Tröegs Mad Elf and Elf on the Shelf

  1. Man, that elf on the shelf thing is creeepy (and those photos are great). Anywho, I’ve had this beer a couple times, and for the life of me, I can’t figure out what the big appeal is. I mean, it’s a fine beer. I don’t have a major problem with it or anything, but it’s never been something that’s really blown me away. It’s been a while since I’ve had it, so perhaps I should give it another shot…

    • I like it. I have to get a bottle each year. I’m not as psycho about it as some, though. It’s not like I hoard it like Jim from Beer & Whiskey Bros. did the other year. But for some reason, it’s seasonally comforting for me to have one in my fridge come December.

      • Yes! That’s who I was trying to think of. I vaguely remembered his stories about hoarding 2-3 cases every year and I couldn’t remember what blog it was from. I mean, I totally get your revisiting of the beer every year, but once you get to 2-3 cases… I mean, what? I assume he shares quite a bit of it with family and friends and whatnot, but still. That’s a lot of beer, and this stuff ain’t no slouch either. Again, I can see how this could become an annual tradition for some folks, and heck, I have my own – I have some Samichlaus every year, and that’s another huge malt bomb (14%). But I have one or two (differing vintages – gets much better when it’s older) a year. Not a case!

    • We gave her a fake one at a young age, which she shortly discarded because it was fake. My Mom gave her an old, de-activated phone. It actually had the contacts painstakingly phonetically spelled-out, so the phone would say “calling Mommy” or “calling Mamo”. This interested her for awhile, but it was a flip phone, which she eventually determined was outdated. Now she just bosses Siri around on my iPhone and iPad. Also, she has mastered Cut the Rope (or, as she calls it, “Om Nom”). *Sigh* Kids these days… I didn’t have a cell phone until I was 25. *Shakes fist angrily*

  2. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Vintage Ale 2012 and Further Elf on the Shelf Shenanigans | beerbecue

Leave a Reply

