Beerbecue Daycare: Day 1 – Festina Pêche and Gerber peaches

Day 1 of Beerbecue Daycare is under our belt. Nobody was injured, maimed, or lost. I consider this a victory. The Haybag aspires to higher standards, like adequate napping, timely feedings, and regularly changed diapers. Overachiever.

I would say the first part of the day was pretty uneventful. After dropping 1.0 off at preschool, 2.0 pulled an hour-and-a-half nap. For most babies this would not be unusual. But this baby hates naps with the intensity of a thousand white-hot suns. I like naps. The Haybag doesn’t. I’m not pointing fingers or anything. I’m just making an observation.

After taking her in to the Haybag’s office to parade her around (where 2.0 randomly picked who to smile at, who to give the stink eye, and who to scream at), I made it to my first beer around 1pm: Dogfish Head Festina Pêche at the Curious Grape. I figured since I was throwing Gerber peaches at the monster, why not?

Festina Pêche is a Berliner Style Weissbier, which is a sour wheat beer. This one has been brewed with peach concentrate, though. The other two peach beers I’ve had this year (Terrapin Maggie Mae’s Farmhouse (GA) (dry and lightly peachy) and RJ Rocker’s Son of a Peach (SC) (sweet and angrily peachy)) have been missing something. Probably most people would argue that if peach beer needed anything it would be to not have peaches in it, but fruit beers have grown on me a little bit…as long as they’re done right. And I love peaches.

Interestingly, it appears Delaware (Dogfish Head’s situs) has stepped in and been all like, listen up South Carolina and Georgia, this is how you shake your peaches. After all, if Delaware is known for anything, it’s a slew of corporate headquarters and peach groves.

The smell is perfectly peachy, accompanied by wheat and an impending tartness. The taste is the same, with peaches leading the charge, complemented nicely by the wheat, and mercifully backed up by a bracing tartness. This tartness is what the others were missing. It’s never sweet. In fact, it tastes a little champagney at times. The peach is never overpowering. And the acidity is refreshing. And 2.0 agrees, peaches are where it’s at:

20130702-085059.jpg

The Haybag: You make Beerbecue Daycare sound pretty interesting, but I can’t help but think it’s a little more like this:

20130702-085325.jpg

10 thoughts on “Beerbecue Daycare: Day 1 – Festina Pêche and Gerber peaches

  1. Totally with you on the fruited up beer! I have a bit of an obsession with them these days. Festina Peche is quite the tart refresher. Interestingly enough, I had a sample of the Terrapin Peachy Saison a couple weeks ago on the same day that I had a Festina Peche (courtesy of a mini mid-week pub crawl with The Alemonger). I liked it at the time and picked up a bottle for an upcoming review. Curious to see how it holds up in bottle form.

    Looks like Beerbecue Daycare is going swimmingly! Keep up the good “work”.

  2. Sounds like my kind of daycare. I would say lose the day job and open up an in home care center where babies are trained in the arts of opening bottles, fetching beers, and the correct glassware to compliment your selection, but if you’re anything like me other people’s kids are the worst.
    I’ve really been into the B-Dubs lately. A semi local brewery has a couple good offerings this year: German Sparkle Party and Swill which is really a radler. So if you get a chance to check out 10 Barrel, those are some solid summer sippers.

  3. I had an Ithica Apricot Wheat over the weekend that was pretty good. I’m with you on the anti-fruit beer front, but apricot beers always seem to work for me. I need to hunt down Festina Peche and come up with a quality nickname like Haybag for my girlfriend. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. If you are enjoying Berliner Weisses (as I am right now…as I wait for mine to become drink-able)…try Bell’s Oarsman. I picked up a six last night and it is TASTY.

    • I do like me some Bell’s Oarsman. Melissa likes to make fun of the way I pronounce “oar” (O-wer), too. So, even though she doesn’t like Berliner Weisse, it’s fun for the whole family.

  5. Pingback: Sour Beers: Refreshing for Summer | Brew Boyz Blog

  6. Pingback: What My Friends Think – The Dog(fish Head) Days of Summer | The Dogs of Beer

Leave a Reply

