The Session #79: A new forum for Ding’s anger.

sessionThis month’s installment of the Session is hosted by the divisive, and English, Adrian “Ding” Dingle of dingsbeerblog. The topic is US vs. Old-World Beer Culture: What the hell has America done to beer?

For those familiar with Ding, this topic is no surprise. For everybody else, all you really need to know is that he is infamous for his blustery but stale criticisms of US beer, his slavish and innovation-stiffling adherence to style guidelines, his strict traditionalist stance on cask ale, and his red-faced insistence upon the 4% ABV session beer Maginot Line.

Interestingly, Ding’s long trail of blocked twitter users (and twitter users blocking Ding) will lead you to the home base for his insurrection: Atlanta. Of course, complaining about US beer culture from Atlanta is like sitting in Newark and whining about the uninspiring view of the US National Park system.

In fact, a quick search of ancestry.com reveals that Ding comes from a long line of naysaying blowhards. So, to better understand Ding and how the US has apparently screwed up beer, one must take a long look back at how people have probably actually been “screwing up” beer for centuries. So, without further adieu, I present beerbecue’s first animated video:

25 thoughts on “The Session #79: A new forum for Ding’s anger.

  1. “Of course, complaining about US beer culture from Atlanta is like sitting in Newark and whining about the uninspiring view of the US National Park system.”

    That’s hot fire right there. Cheers.

      • Actually, it should have been edited out because it’s inaccurate. My view on US beer culture is NOT solely colored by Atlanta. As I say near the top of my piece, I have traveled extensively in the US and I am applying the argument regardless of my current location. I tried to make that clear; obviously I failed.

      • You didn’t fail. I figured as much. But I think it generally went over pretty well. I’m glad I left it in.

        If you must insist on taking my joke seriously, however, you make a fair point. But traveling is nowhere near the same as living somewhere. You have to be somewhere, and in and about its surrounding areas, for quite some time to get a real feel for what it’s like.

        Also, your view is restricted by being a visitor (which admittedly can be mitigated somewhat by being shuffled around by a local). Even then, your view becomes outdated after awhile (in the US, beer is making such a surge that an area could drastically change over the course of just a year or two).

        For instance, I lived in Greenford (west of London) for a year while going to school in London. This afforded me a pretty good opportunity to get a feel for the beer and pubs (and culture in general). But even then, my view is generally frozen in 2000-2001. And from my travels around Europe, I would think it the height of temerity to assume that I was anywhere long enough to get a real sense for what it’s like living there day-to-day (possibly with the slight exception of Madrid where I stayed with my friend’s abuela for a month, a stone’s throw from the Tio Pepe sign off of Puerta del Sol.)

        And I would argue that I have a much better finger on the pulse of the American psyche, its culture, and its regional qualities as I have actually LIVED (and drunk) in IL, MI, CA, IN, MT, FL, SC, WA, and VA, in addition to extensive travel elsewhere.

      • Hmm. I think I see where this is headed. Touché. You’re not unqualified. I think that last comment got away from me a little bit. You get me all riled up, Ding. However, I stand by the subtext of my joke and video.

      • If the internet doesn’t rest on a bedrock of “people care about my opinion, and what I think of their opinion,” then we might as well shut it down now. Or at least let my friends know, because the political facebook posts need to go.

        This was some funny stuff.

  2. “complaining about US beer culture from Atlanta is like sitting in Newark and whining about the uninspiring view of the US National Park system.” I’ve read this post three times for this line alone. The animation was awesome, and the “totally sessioned some Oskar Blues Deviant Dale’s” line was priceless. Well done. Although I’m not sure this is what DING had in mind.

    • I do pretty regularly stretch the Session topic to suit my demented mind. But really the point is (apart from getting in cheap shots at Ding) that beer has always evolved within various cultural contexts, there is nothing fundamentally wrong with US beer, and while beer tradition and history are important…it isn’t everything.

      My video could be called No Beer for Old Men. Stop whining about how everything is changing and is too fast and different from how it used to be. It’s always really been that way.

      • “there is nothing fundamentally wrong with US beer, and while beer tradition and history are important…it isn’t everything.”

        Agreed, but I would add that brewers should have a solid grasp on the traditional part of a beer before they start throwing everything but the kitchen sink at a recipe. For example, the old world care for cask ale. You should know how to send out a kick ass cask before you start adding things like jalapenos, snickers,and essence of elf fart into the barrel.

      • I think we’re generally in agreement (except for elf farts), as I concede that tradition and history have a place. But if someone happens to make an awesome, brazen beer, and for whatever reason can’t make a decent pale ale to save their life, I don’t care *that* much. I’ll criticize the pale and be happy that the awesome one exists.

        And the cask thing only bothers me if the underlying beer isn’t good. If you have to throw elf fart essence in the cask to make your beer taste good, then, even though it tastes good, I would likely be generally critical overall (not just of the underlying beer).

    • I’m like the Thelonious Monk of beer comedy. People be all like: “Wait. That’s not April in Paris. That’s just a disjointed, percussive mess.” Then they listen deeper and they’re all like, “Whoa, that’s some heavy shit right there.”

      Or, maybe I’m just a disjointed and heavy-handed mess. Either way, I’m enjoying myself. 🙂

  3. Brilliant stuff! I particularly like the word douche-bag being uttered by a Wig (The Alemonger’s term for a Founding Father type). If you’re half as good at tax law as you are at this stuff, then expect a call from me if there ever comes a time that I can afford your hourly rate.Every good Sicilian needs a good tax attorney at some point in their life.

    • Thanks. Although, I must warn you that I haven’t actively practiced since 2005. Since then, I just write tax law for the House of Reps (and answer my parent’s numerous tax questions, including some “hypothetical business tax questions” from my dad…which by the end of the phone call I realize isn’t exactly hypothetical so much as he already did it and there is a problem).

      • I don’t practice tax law (and never have), but still manage to get inane questions from acquaintances (“Do I really need to report all of my income?” “No, you just choose the income you like the least, the IRS doesn’t mind if you hide your favorite income.”).

  4. To be fair, one always misses what they don’t have- Ding feels his homeland is the motherland of beer. I’m drinking great wine right now and I fucking hate it. I love France, but America has good beer!!

  5. Pingback: Session #79 – The round up and a few rebuttals | dingsbeerblog

Leave a Reply

