Mikkeller Hoppy Lovin Christmas: Naughty Elf on the Shelf returns

Next up, Mikkeller Hoppy Lovin’ Christmas:mikkeller

Thanksgiving is over. You are now free to deck your halls without fear of snickering and dirty looks. Perhaps more importantly, Elf on the Shelf is back on the…er…shelf.

If you remember last year, Elf (or “Flappy” as he is named in our house) was working through some pretty serious substance abuse issues. Here are a couple reminders of Elf hitting rock bottom:

photo (93)

Veterinary prescription bottles are NOT elf-proof.

When he said he missed snow, I thought...wow.

When he said he missed snow, I thought…wow.

I have since found out that my naughty Elf posts were so popular that the Big Guy himself ran across them on Pinterest. Now, as a condition of his continued employment, Elf must undergo regular drug testing, and in the offseason he has been demoted to cleaning the stalls of the North Pole Reindeer Husbandry Unit.

Obviously, with Elf still drying out and me maybe being an eensy-weensy bit responsible for his downfall, there was some awkward tension the first couple days. However, Elf and I were chatting one night, and we’ve apparently found common ground. We both hate Sophie the Giraffe. I really can’t figure out for sure why Elf hates Sophie. I just figured it was a harmless manifestation of Elf’s crippling sociopathic narcissism…until I came downstairs late one night to inspect some racket and caught Elf doing this:

photo 1 (1)

I think I preferred the substance abuse.

Apparently, his anger isn’t quite as harmless as I suspected! Elf and I had a talk, and I hoped it sunk in, until the next day…

This is going to be a problem.

This is going to be a problem.

Hoppy Lovin’ Christmas is an IPA brewed with ginger and pine needles. It pours a slightly hazy orange-gold, with a dense and creamy off-white head that leaves decent lace. A first huff gives you a big rush of ripe, juicy, citrusy hops, which eventually fade a little to reveal some biscuity malt. At first the taste is mainly pine with some orange and grapefruit, then as it warms you get some ginger. While I don’t think I would immediately identify it as such without a mention on the label, there is definitely a certain gingery zippiness to it. It’s on the sweet end of the sweet-dry spectrum, but I certainly wouldn’t call it sweet. And while there is a piney aftertaste to it that lingers lightly, it is pretty darn drinkable.

I like. Even though I still find hops and Christmas to be strange bedfellows, there are a couple beers (this one, Sierra Nevada Celebration, and Lagunitas Sucks) that are bringing me around.

The Haybag: This is some damn fine hoppy lovin’. Oh, and FYI, I’m not a fan of waking up from a nap to find you doing creepy photo shoots with dolls.

15 thoughts on “Mikkeller Hoppy Lovin Christmas: Naughty Elf on the Shelf returns

    • To outloon the Alemonger is quite a task…although we have both been twisted by the legal profession. And I think I deserve a Tuscan Villa, although I hear there are none available (I would actually prefer an olive farm in Southern Spain, even though the Haybag would eat all of the product).

  1. Speechless once more. For now.

    And I thought our Elf and his Right Hand Heeb, Lox in a Box, were a chaotic couple (skinny skiing with harem of perky Barbies last year, for instance).

    Spectacular stuff! Thanks for the kick in the blogging pants once more. Tonight I write! (for second best).

    ~Cheers!

    • I’ve often maintained that certain people may be better for society living a drug induced life (typically it’s artists, musicians, etc.). It’s a tough call, cause we’d sort of be “using them”. But in Elf’s case, I think it’s pretty clear cut. Elf may just have to fall of the wagon.

  2. And how was the giraffe meat? They don’t stock that at our local Save-On Foods, and I wouldn’t trust my parents to cook it (who knew you just put it in the pan, hide and all?).
    Funny about the elf’s exploits. Just a minute ago my Nana posted on FB that “white stuff is coming down.” I’m pretty sure she shouldn’t be saying this on FB. I mean, next thing she’ll be trying to move the stuff on Craig’s List.

  3. “Oh, and FYI, I’m not a fan of waking up from a nap to find you doing creepy photo shoots with dolls.”

    Almost sounds like this has happened before….

Leave a Reply

