Beerbecue Health Confession. I Have Been Living a Big Fat Lie.

We are wrapping up Barf Week at beerbecue HQ. Everyone in the family should now immunized against whatever heinous daycare plague was lurking in the crevices of some Lego Duplo brick, the disease trapping fur of Big Hugs Elmo, or the dirty babbling beak of some Furby Boom. Patient zero was 2.0. Then, one-by-one, the rest of the house fell.

So now, I am finally getting around to a post I have been avoiding. Folks, I have been living a lie. I feel like the Paula Deen of the beer and BBQ blogging world. No, I have never longed for a “Plantation-style Wedding”. My wedding was pretty tame: A build-your-own taco bar, Tecate cans, and kilts. And as I’m assuming is customary at all weddings, when Smells Like Teen Spirit came on this happened:Wedding 1

Then this...

Then this…

Umm, then this...

Umm, then this…

A little less hetero than I had imagined my wedding.

A little less hetero than I had imagined my wedding.

No. No. I have promoted beer swilling and BBQ eating, while walking around as a ticking time bomb of rotundity and high cholesterol. And all the while, there was no way you could have known that following my lead was potentially harmful to your health. Reckless.

My doctor has her stethoscope in a twist about the amount of grains and gluten in my diet (which admittedly hasn’t changed much since I was swimming 5,000-10,000 yards a day in college). Apparently, along with genetics and a lack of exercise, this is suppressing my HDL and boosting my LDL. In fact, she did the equivalent of a medical facepalm when I told her I write a beer and bbq blog.

I suppose in light of my family history, the responsible thing to do is to make some lifestyle changes. Thus, my fat ass is back in the pool. And I have to make some changes regarding beer consumption. This could affect the blog. I know this may be disappointing to many of my readers, but I have given this much thought. I’m going to have to drink more bourbon. Sorry, but I have to do what’s best for my family.

Interestingly enough, I see a move to liquor as happening more broadly. Over the past several years, I have seen restaurants and bars upping their liquor game with better booze selection and carefully crafted cocktails. And with websites like Bread&Gin (check out this video) and friends with snazzily stocked liquor cabinets and freezer trays that make huge ice cubes, I can’t help but think that liquor could cut into craft beer’s game at least a little bit. (And, of course, don’t forget It’s Just the Booze Dancing…G-Lo has been distracted by Whiskey for years.)

And I can’t say I’m disappointed. First, I don’t think it will detract much from craft beer, if at all. In many ways, they occupy different realms. If anything, liquor may just impede or slow craft beer’s foray into fancy pants drinking. Second, I love bourbon. Who wouldn’t want more selection and availability. And I love me a good Manhattan, which is what I got the other day complements of my friend’s snazzy liquor cabinet…complete with home-soaked cherries, Bulleitt Bourbon, and Carpano Antica Formula. Without a doubt, the best Manhattan evar.

manhattanWhat say you about snazzy liquor vs. craft beer?

21 thoughts on “Beerbecue Health Confession. I Have Been Living a Big Fat Lie.

  1. So long as we get a healthier Mr. Beerbecue, I’m sure all your dedicated readers will be happy to indulge you in your bourbon-fueled quest for balance.

    I just hope this doesn’t mean you’re stuck to gluten-free beer. Then I will pour one out for you.

    Either way, it’s good to hear you’re taking the initiative. More power to you.

    • I laid down the law. I told them I wasn’t going to stop drinking beer. Besides, I think they were more concerned with the breads and pastas and other stuff that the stomach easily converts to sugar. I think they pedal the anti-gluten crap to most people regardless. No dice!

  2. Distracted by Whisky? I wouldn’t go THAT far. For me it’s more of a time and place thing, i.e. it depends upon my mood and also the time of day. For what it’s worth, The Alemonger has also been rekindling his love of whisky lately and has also been dabbling in the Bourbon.

    Regarding the Manhattan, that is definitely a fine combo of booze you pulled together. We experimented a bit with the Manhattans a couple weeks ago (made two different versions) and went with Bulleit Rye (a fabulous bargain!), Carpano Antica, Punt e Mes, and Angostura Orange Bitters.Tasty stuff! Hopefully, Limpd will pull the post together soon.

    And as far as the health thing goes, I had a physical last year, but dumbass that I am, I neglected to get the blood work done. While I didn’t mention the blog, when the doc said that I should drink more fluids, I asked if beer counted since it’s MOSTLY water. She just looked at me. I’m guessing she wasn’t amused. They really should offer “sense of humor” classes in doctor school. Most of them don’t have one.

    Good luck with the “healthier you” project! Look forward to reading about your progress. I need to embark on a “healthier me” project one of these days.

    • Yeah. What’s up with doctors? Lawyers have a way better sense of humor. And it’s my understanding that its only a problem once the bloodwork is done…up till that point, lack of knowledge prevents any ill health effects. You know what they say: Knowledge is deadly.

      • My doctor collects beer labels. So I got that going for me. My last visit came out clean. I just manage my diet around a beer or two in the evening, but I do need to mix in some more exercise. I’m not as young as I used to be! Plus I got to get in training for my Belgium trip. Both for all the walking and all the drinking!

        I’m almost purely a craft beer guy. I’m just not that into liquor on a regular basis. I do have a few vices, which include a well made manhattan and craft gin, but they’re only occasional diversions. I do enjoy reading about liquor though.

        Glad to see you back on the blog boat, though! You should move to England, you’ll be considered healthy there. I was watching an Australian comedian once. He got his stats checked at home and was told he was unhealthy. While on tour in England, he got them checked again. Exact same stats but the doctor told him he was in good shape! I guess the old real estate adage holds true here too: Location, Location, Location!

        Good luck on the life modifications! I’m cheering for you.

  3. Sounds like you and Sal (our Lox in the Box, Right Hand Heeb to Jingles, our Elf on the Shelf) would get along swimmingly (awful pun intended). He tells all sorts of tales about swimming up rivers and such. I thought it was a bunch of Jewfish malarky until we found him this morning atop the rock climbing wall he and Jingles built last night. Apparently there may be something to those stories of heroic feats of upstream/waterfall swimming after all.

    I must temper my horror at the prospect of your impending portfolio rebalancing given my own recent rediscovery of whisky thanks also to that G-LO agent of distractions. The last couple of pours left in a bottle of Willet Pot Still Reserve that I picked up 2 weeks ago stand testiment to my own wandering attentions.

    Oh, but back to Sal (real name name Schlomo) and Jingles (aka, F’ing Terrorist Candy Crack Home Depot Shopping Fiend), they got into the craft beer stash last week for a proposed guest review post. It got so out of hand that it’s taken me longer than expected to edit – but its coming. You have been warned…

    Cheers!

    • I am looking forward to the Schlomo and Jingles post. I think the one thing that has kept Flappy in check is the lack of a sidekick. As long as Flappy and Sophie the Giraffe don’t decide on an “the enemy of my enemy…” détente, I should be safe.

  4. Okay, so not a tragedy then. You get to move up to harder stuff, and that’s all good. I’d start after Christmas though, if you guys make turkey like my parents do. Not a health food. That’s why food is so overrated.

    • If you mean that you shouldn’t drink and cook, then I wholeheartedly agree. Which reminds me. I still need to write up the Marcella Hazan Bolognese Sauce making and Glenfiddich 12 YO vs 15 YO episode (FYI, the 15 is infinitely better) of several years ago. It was a great time, but all that whisky (which went into me and not the sauce) did NOT make the sauce any better.

  5. This is why I’m not looking forward to my next health visit. Nothing wrong with me that less beer blogging and more gym time couldn’t correct, but I’ve become pretty much become accustomed to the current ratio of the two. Plus I too know that my doctor will not look kindly on “I write a beer blog” as acceptable medical reasoning behind my life choices. Wish I liked bourbon more.

Leave a Reply

